Research

 Cross Section

 Education

 Internship Office

 Fastlinks


 

Aircraft Design

 
The teaching in the field of aircraft design deals with the description of the basic procedures of aircraft design and the critical reflection of the used empirical methods. In the context of the ‘Aircraft Design Workshop’ (‘Flugzeugentwurfsseminar’) the students are given the opportunity to perform an entire aircraft design process by doing group work. The relating scenarios and boundary values are defined in collaboration with the ‘Future Project Office’ of Airbus Industries.
 
In the area of research, the department ‘Aircraft Design’ (‘Flugzeugentwurf’) particularly deals with the following three topics:
 
Manned Aircraft Projects
This topic deals with the development, construction, and testing of trendsetting light plane projects. The focus lies on the combination of eco-efficient concepts with alternative propulsion technologies. The solar aircraft ‘icaré’ and the battery powered aircraft ‘e-Genius’ are used by the Institute of Aircraft Design (IFB) for the practical testing of both alternative propulsion and energy storage technologies.
 
Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs)
The research group ‘UAV’ conducts research on the design and construction of fixed-wing and helicopter UAVs, development of avionics, system integration, and professional flight test planning and execution. The biggest UAVs realized until today are ‘VELA2’, ‘NACRE’ and ‘AMPAIR’.
 
The aim is the improvement of the statistical preliminary draft tools. They are used in the field of the mass forecast of main components as well as connecting elements of the aircraft structure.

Forschung

 Querschnittsbereiche

 Lehre

 Praktikantenamt

 Fastlinks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Flugzeugentwurf

 
Im Bereich des Flugzeugentwurfs geht es in der Lehre um die Vermittlung der grundlegenden Vorgehensweise im Flugzeugvorentwurf und der kritischen Betrachtung der dafür genutzten statistischen Methoden. Im Rahmen des Flugzeugentwurfsseminars können Studierende in Gruppenarbeit jedes Jahr einen kompletten Flugzeugvorentwurf durchführen. Die entsprechenden Szenarien und Randbedingungen werden in Kooperation mit dem ‚Future Project Office‘ der Firma Airbus definiert.
 
In der Forschung beschäftigt sich die Abteilung Flugzeugentwurf vor allem mit drei Themengebieten:
 
Bemannte Flugzeugprojekte
Mit Entwicklung, Bau und Erprobung von zukunftsweisende Leichtflugzeugprojekten, dabei stehen ökoeffiziente Konzepte in Verbindung mit alternativen Antriebstechnologien besonders im Fokus. Das Solarflugzeug icaré und das Batterieflugzeug e-Genius werden vom IFB für die Praxiserprobung alternativer Antriebs- und Speichertechnologien betrieben.
 
Unbemannte Fluggeräte (UAVs)
Mit dem Themenfeld UAV (engl. unmanned aerial vehicle = Unbemannte Fluggeräte). Die Forschungsgruppe UAV arbeitet an Entwurf und Bau von Flächen-UAVs bzw. Helikoptern, Avionikentwicklung, Systemintegration und professionelle Flugtestplanung und –Durchführung. Größte realisierte UAVs waren bisher VELA2, NACRE und AMPAIR.
 
Allgemeiner/Konzeptioneller Flugzeugentwurf
Mit der Verbesserung der statistischen Vorentwurfswerkzeuge, sei es im Bereich der Massenprognose von Hauptkomponenten oder Verbindungselementen der Flugzeugstruktur.